Jobcentrefuckingplus part 2

I have just tried phoning up about the letter I recieved.  I’ve spent 50 mins going through a frustrating telephone system where I get to press buttons.  Not one option applies to me and it took me 35 mins and choosing the wrong option to get one that offered me a chance to speak to a real person.  I was then put in a queue for 15 mins and when I finally got to the front of the queue I was told that there was no one available to take my call and to  leave a message.  This is a fucking joke.

I’ve left a message.  They say they’ll call me back.  I doubt they will but it means waiting in all day, just in case.  I think this system is designed solely so you are driven mad.  This is the number given on top of the letter they sent me yet I can’t speak to anyone about the contents of the letter.  The letter itself asks for clarification but gives no way of providing it.  I sent them an email and asked for an acknowledgement that it had been received (I’d like to know if I can pay my rent next month) but they haven’t bothered to respond.  The only other thing I can think of is to visit their offices but I know I won’t get to see anyone.  There will be someone there on a desk to tell me this standing alongside someone meant to intimidate me.  I will only be in a bad mood because of all their other crap with the phone and the email.  There is usually a poster up saying something like “violence against our staff will not be tolerated”.  I don’t condone violence but when the system is like this it’s easy to see why people get frustrated and it boils over.

~ by Rachel on May 26, 2009.

3 Responses to “Jobcentrefuckingplus part 2”

  1. I think its contrived to break down any spirit of pride, entitlement, or expectation of respect among the needy — and to accustom them to being “lesser than”.

    • I agree. You certainly leave feeling like you’ve been treated as a second class citizen. People complain about the creation of a new underclass. Is it really any wonder when the system seems designed to work against you and make it as difficult as possible for you to lead a secure and independent life. Since I went back to university my income has dropped dramatically from when I was simply claiming benefits. I’m seriously beginning to question if it was a good move.

  2. Yeah.

    *Thinks about what else to say — but decides not to bullshit you with any cliches or platitudes.

    I will say, however, that you are fortunate to be able to express yourself so assertively and articulately. That’s your fighting chance.

Leave a comment